

2023 AAS/SUS Surgical Investigators' Course:

The Grant Writing Workshop

Course Agenda

DAY 1: SUNDAY, FEBRUARY 5, 2023

**Program and Faculty Subject to Change

1:00 pm – 1:10 pm Introduction

Amir Ghaferi, MD, MSc, MBA and Kasper Wang, MD

1:10 pm – 1:45 pm Strategies for Success in Grant Writing: What I Wish I Knew Earlier

Dorry L. Segev, MD, PhD

1:45 pm – 2:30 pm How Do Funding Agencies Work

Moderator: Kasper Wang, MD

1:45 pm NIH Organization, Institutes, Funding, CSR, Award Types – Becke White, MD

2:05 pm Non-NIH Funding Agencies – *Luke Funk, MD* 2:20 pm Foundation Funding – *Eugene Kim, MD*

2:30 pm - 2:40 pm Break

2:40 pm – 3:15 pm Essential Elements of a Successful Research Proposal

Moderator: Amir Ghaferi, MD, MSc, MBA

2:40 pm Generating a Hypothesis and Specific Aims – Andrew Ibrahim, MD, MSc

2:50 pm Conveying Significance and Innovation – Jayme Locke, MD

3:00 pm Creating an Effective Scientific Approach - Tips and Tricks – Rachel Kelz, MD, MSCE

3:15 pm - 3:25 pm Break

3:25 pm – 4:00 pm Breakout Panel Discussion: Basic and Translational Research

Moderator: Jason Sicklick, MD

Topics: Budget, Equipment, Resources, Vertebrate Animals, etc. - Benjamin Levi, MD and

Genevieve Boland, MD, PhD

OR

3:25 pm – 4:00 pm Breakout Panel Discussion: Outcomes/Health Services Research

Moderator: Lillian Kao, MD

Topics: Budget, Resources, Strategy for Building a Research Team & Selecting Co-

Investigators - Giana Davidson, MD, MPH and Jayme Locke, MD, MPH

4:00 pm - 5:00 pm Reception



DAY 2: MONDAY, FEBRUARY 6, 2023

**Program and Faculty Subject to Change

8:00 am - 8:30 am Top 10 Mistakes Made when Writing your First Grant

Carrie Cunningham, MD, MPH

8:30 am – 9:45 am Breakout: Career Development Awards

Moderator: Karl Bilimoria, MD, MS

8:30 am NIH K Award Application Mechanism – Oluwadamilola Fayanju, MD 8:45 am Development the Candidate Statement & Career Development Plan –

Pasithron (Amy) Suwanabol, MD

9:00 am Mentor/Environment – John Scott, MD, MPH

9:15 am The Do's and Don'ts of Writing an NIH K Award Application –

Juliet Emamaullee, MD, PhD

9:30 am Discussion – All Faculty

OR

8:30 am - 9:45 am Breakout: My First Grant

Moderator: Virginia Shaffer, MD

8:30 am Where Can I Find Local or Regional Grant Opportunities? – Daniel Chu, MD

8:50 am I Am Not Sure Where to Start – Who Can I Ask for Help? –

Lorraine Ida Kelley-Quon, MD, MSHS

9:10 am How Do I Identify Research Mentor(s)? – Alex Hawkins, MD, MPH

9:30 am Panel Discussion/Small Group Advice – All Faculty

9:45 am - 10:00 am Break

10:00 am - 10:50 am Score, Triage, Summary Statement and Resubmission

Moderator: Nader Massarweh, MD, MPH

10:00 am What Happens to your Grants after Submission – Vikas Dudeja, MD

10:15 am Summary Statements and Preparing for Revision – Alex Sox-Harris, PhD, MS

10:30 am Discussion – All Faculty

10:45 am Closing Comments – Amir Ghaferi, MD, MSc, MBA and Kasper Wang, MD

10:50 am – 11:00 am Break

11:00 am - 1:00 pm Mock NIH Study Session (Health Services Research or Basic Science)

Registrants will be assigned to a mock study section with assigned faculty members.





SIC FACULTY LIST

Karl Bilimoria, MD, MS, FACS

Chair, Department of Surgery Jay Grosfeld Professor of Surgery Director, Surgical Outcomes and Quality Improvement Center (SOQIC) Indiana University School of Medicine System Vice President for Surgical Quality Indiana University Health

Genevieve Boland MD, PhD, FACS

Vice Chair of Research, Department of Surgery Director, Therapeutic Intralesional Program Surgical Director, Termeer Center for Targeted Therapies Melanoma/Sarcoma Surgery Massachusetts General Hospital

Daniel I. Chu MD, MSPH, FACS, FASCRS

Associate Professor Vice Chair. Health Services Research Selwyn M. Vickers Endowed Chair Univ of AL at Birmingham

Carrie Cunningham MD, MPH

Carrie Cunningham, MD MPH AAS President Associate Professor Associate Director of the MGH Institute for Technology Assessment Section Head, Endocrine Surgery Mass General Hospital

Giana Hystad Davidson MD, MPH, FACS

Associate Professor, Dept of Surgery Adjunct Assoc Professor, Department of Health Systems and Population Health

Assistant Dean for Professional Development UW Medicine

Chief of Staff, University of Washington Medical Center Section Chief for Emergency General Surgery

Vikas Dudeja MD, FACS

James P. Hayes Endowed Professor Director and Associate Professor Division of Surgical Oncology Department of Surgery UAB, Birmingham

Juliet Emamaullee MD, PhD FRCSC FACS

Assistant Professor of Clinical Surgery Associate Chief, Division of Clinical Research (USC) Research Director, Abdominal Organ Transplantation (CHLA)

Department of Surgery

Keck Medicine of USC/Children's Hospital-Los Angeles

Oluwadamilola Fayanju MD, MA, MPHS, FACS Helen O. Dickens Presidential Associate Professor &

Chief, Division of Breast Surgery Perelman School School of Medicine, The University of

Pennsylvania

Luke Funk MD, MPH, FACS

Associate Professor Director of MIS Research Chief of General Surgery, William S. Middleton VA Division of Minimally Invasive Surgery University of Wisconsin-Madison

Amir A. Ghaferi MD, MSc, MBA, FACS, FASMBS

Professor of Surgery President & CEO, Physician Enterprise Froedtert Health & Medical College of Wisconsin Senior Associate Dean for Clinical Affairs Medical College of Wisconsin Immediate Past President, AAS

Alexander T. Hawkins MD, MPH, FACS

Associate Professor

Andrew Ibrahim MD, MSc

University of Michigan

Lillian Kao MD, MS

Professor

Chief, Division of Acute Care Surgery McGovern Medical School at The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston

Lorraine Ida Kelley-Quon, MD, MSHS

Assistant Professor of Surgery and Population and Public Health Sciences Children's Hospital Los Angeles Keck School of Medicine of USC



SIC FACULTY LIST (CONTINUED)

Rachel Kelz MD, MBA, MSCE, FACS

William Maul Measey Professor of Surgery Executive Vice Chair, Department of Surgery Director, Center for Surgery and Health Economics Perelman School of Medicine, University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, PA

Eugene Kim, MD

Director, Division of Pediatric Surgery Vice Chair, Department of Surgery Cedars-Sinai Medical Center

Benjamin Levi MD

Associate Professor of Surgery Division Chief of Burn, Trauma, Acute and Critical Care Surgery

University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center

Jayme E Locke, MD, MPH, FACS, FAST

Professor of Surgery Chief, Division of Transplantation Director, UAB Comprehensive Transplant Institute

Arnold G. Diethelm Endowed Chair in Transplantation Surgery

University of Alabama at Birmingham

Nader N. Massarweh MD MPH

Associate Professor of Surgery Chief of Surgery, Atlanta VA Healthcare System Vice Chair, Veterans Affairs, Department of Surgery, Emory University School of Medicine

John Scott MD, MPH

Assistant Professor

Dorry Segev, MD PhD

Professor of Surgery and Population Health Member, National Academy of Medicine Vice Chair for Research, Department of Surgery Director, Center for Surgical and Transplant Applied Research NYU Langone Health

Virginia Shaffer MD

Professor of Surgery Scientific Director, Emory Crohn's and Colitis Center Emory University

Jason Sicklick MD, FACS

Professor of Surgery and Pharmacology UCSD

Alex Sox-Harris PhD, MS

Professor (Research), Surgery Stanford University Pasithorn Suwanabol MD Assistant Professor University of Michigan

Pasithorn Suwanabol MD

Assistant Professor University of Michigan

Kasper S. Wang, MD

The Robert M. Filler Chair of Paediatric Surgery and Division Head of General and Thoracic Surgery The Hospital for Sick Children Professor Department of Surgery The University of Toronto Temerty Faculty of Medicine

Rebekah White MD, FACS

Professor of Surgery University of California San Diego